Euler’s Identity

In my previous blog I mentioned that “if there’s one mathematical constant that reigns supreme in the heady world of statistics, it’s Pi”.  But what about that other mathematical constant, Euler’s Number, e?  I don’t think statistics would have advanced very far without e.  Well in fact Pi, e and the square root of -1, denoted by i, share a special bond, known as Euler’s Identity:

e^{i \pi} = -1

Many mathematicians consider Euler’s Identity to be the most beautiful equation of all time.  And I have to admit it sends tingles down my spine too.  I also get the same sensation when I see fractals, or Einstein’s famous proof of the equivalence of mass and energy, E=mc2.

I must be some nerd.

Leave a Reply

